Electricity Board – What happens when you forget to pay bill?

What happens when you forget to pay bill?

Here is my own personal experience, which just happened at 1:55 PM, May 25th 2007.
I am supposed to pay the Electricity bill for the month of March 2007, which I didn’t pay due to this reason below

My wife usually keeps the electricity bill book, in the showcase so that I don’t forget to pay the bill. To my luck while cleaning up the place she kept the Electricity document inside the cupboard (alamari), thinking I have payed the bill.

So our poor Government servant, reached my residence in this hot sun and complained that he is about to pull the main fuse carrier as I have not paid the bill in due time. Kindly note: All this happened at 1:55PM

My wife called me up and she called upon him to attend the call, I asked him What do I need to do immediately to avoid pulling the Main fuse carrier. He said I have to pay the amount at the office by 2:30 PM, if not by 2:30 PM he would pull the plug.

What on earth do the electricity board doing customer service?
I am happy that this Government servant had come down to my place informed me that he would pull the Main fuse carrier, at the same time don’t you think there can be genuine cases where people would have really forgot about paying their bills and should there be some grace time of atleast a day.

On top of that, My situation is – my residence at villivakkam and my office at velachery and at 1:45 PM, I being at office. How can I ever dream of coming down to pay the electricity bill before 2:30PM. I had to request my wife to pay the Electricity bill. (Imagine with no electricity in this hot summer) Oops!!!

High Drama at the Electricity bill counter: When my wife reached to pay the bill, she just got humiliated by the employees referring “April month bill ipa tha pay pana varaga” Well I am sure I will have good time when I reach home. She just started to blast me over the phone, saying “see I had to hear, all these lame comments”

There are/can be genuine cases which can happen, A friend of mine just said to me that, he had been on long leave and returned back to find the Fuse pulled out.

  1. What if both the family members working?
  2. What if no family member available during the day time

Closing notes: Why can’t they think of providing better customer service. Can’t they extend atleast one day grace period. In the private sector we say “Customer is the King”. When will we make the change the Government rules and Government people’s mind.

There is a saying
“If you need to remember your Wife’s birthday, you have to forget it once.”

Technorati Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

11 thoughts on “Electricity Board – What happens when you forget to pay bill?

  1. Hari Kasa says:

    Hi Vinod,

    I stumbled upon your blog and have started visiting it regularly. Nice topics, written w/o too much of bile or political slant. Keep it up man.

    Bye,

    Like

  2. K L N Reddy says:

    I am also residing at villivakkam. i think i have to be careful in future.

    See my case.
    I was thinking that paying the electricity bill was easy and fast.
    I went to their office at 8.30 am hoping that i can pay the bill and go to office by 10 am. When i went there a huge crowd was waiting. i had to stand in the queue for two hours and could come only by 11.30 am and i had to apply for leave for the day and i had to explain for not planning my leave in advance.

    Like

  3. Sertvfdnhgjk says:

    Приветствую всех!
    У меня такой вопрос,кто что интересное подскажет буду признателен.
    Мы с друзьями собираемся поехать в круиз по просторам России и ближнего зарубежья месяца на два на своих машинах,но не как не можем согласовать маршрут,если у кого уже был опыт такого путешествия,может,что посоветуете.Девчонок с собой не берем,думаем,что во все городах России с этим не будет проблем,если у кого будут рекомендации и в вопросе отдыха с девушками тоже буду признателен.

    С уважением Сеньчик

    Like

  4. K L N Reddy says:

    Indian Bank has a tie pu with TNEB and due to this, now it has been made possible to pay electricity bills on line without much of a difficulty. It is really a boon for office goers as they do not have to wait in the long queues for paying theie electricity bills. A great development indeed.
    K L N Reddy

    Like

  5. ChaitanyaK says:

    BALAJI JAYARAMAN August 19, 2007 at 4:57 pm
    →REPLY

    What about paying online.. i think HDFC & ICICI is giving a provision to pay online.. (Autopay i hope so..)
    I’m also agary with Balaji but one time HDFC are faild in this process. I’m playing my bill through HDFC Autopay from 2017 FEB but in June bill they didn’t pay and simple they send msg at last due date time like as
    “Dear Customer due to technical reason at TSSPDCL, we could not get bill information for the month of June in the required time Kindly make payment through alternate channels to avoid disconnection of services.”

    Like

  6. ChaitanyaK says:

    I’m also agary with Balaji but one time HDFC are faild in this process. I’m playing my bill through HDFC Autopay from 2017 FEB but in June bill they didn’t pay and simple they send msg at last due date time like as
    “Dear Customer due to technical reason at TSSPDCL, we could not get bill information for the month of June in the required time Kindly make payment through alternate channels to avoid disconnection of services.”

    Like

  7. ChaitanyaKK says:

    I’m also agary with Balaji but one time HDFC are faild in this process. I’m playing my bill through HDFC Autopay from 2017 FEB but in June bill they didn’t pay and simple they send msg at last due date time like as
    “Dear Customer due to technical reason at TSSPDCL, we could not get bill information for the month of June in the required time Kindly make payment through alternate channels to avoid disconnection of services.”

    Like

Leave a Reply

